Index to deeds of land grants. AD956. Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office, Tasmania, Australia.
Copies of land grants issued 1804-1823. LSD354. Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office, Tasmania, Australia.
Deeds of land grants 1832- 1935. RD1. Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office, Tasmania, Australia.
Tasmania was originally part of the New South Wales colony, which was founded as a convict colony in 1788. New South Wales originally included the states of Queensland, South Australia, Victoria, Norfolk, and the Lord Howe Islands, as well as Tasmania (formerly known as Van Diemen's Land). Beginning with the first Governor, Arthur Phillip, free land in New South Wales was granted to emancipists (free settlers and ex-convicts). An individual male was allowed 30 acres, 20 if they were married, and 10 for each additional child at the time of registration. To encourage free settlers to immigrate to New South Wales, non-commissioned Marine Officers could receive 100 acres of land and privates 50. The grants for Tasmania were administered from Sydney until just after Tasmania was separated from New South Wales in 1825. Governor Arthur begin issuing land grants in Tasmania in 1826, and introduced the Tasmanian Registration of Deeds Act in 1827. This required that, for any deed transaction, a search and legal examination of the chain of title be performed.
The format of these records varies, as does the degree of information recorded. Details can include the date and location of the grant, description, name of the grantee, amount paid, and names of witnesses. Note that place names during the 18th century are non-standard as written in the registers.
Information in this database includes:
- Date of grant
- Location of grant